Faculty of Economics & Business - Zagreb

The Faculty of Economics & Business celebrates its 99th anniversary

On December 2, 2019, the Faculty of Economics& Business, University of Zagreb celebrated its Faculty Day and its 99th anniversary with a festive program. In his introductory address, Dean Prof. Jurica Pavičić, Ph.D., referred to the long tradition, achievements in the field of scientific research work and international cooperation, organization and conducting of conferences and projects involving professors and students of the Faculty of Economics and other achievements related to the activities of the Faculty. On this occasion, the song Just because of Her was presented, which was created in collaboration with the Faculty of Economics & Business and the group Rules of the Game for the forthcoming Centennial of the founding and operation of the Faculty.
​Mr. Marko Primorac, Envoy of Ms. Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović, the President of the Republic of Croatia, Ms. Irena Petrijevčanin Vuksanović, Envoy of the Speaker of the Croatian Parliament, Mr. Tomislav Ćorić, Ph.D., Deputy Mayor of the Republic of Croatia, Ms. Olivera Majić, Deputy Mayor of the City of Zagreb, Mr. Drago Prgomet, President of the City Assembly of the City of Zagreb, and Prof. Damir Boras, Ph.D., Rector of the University of Zagreb, enhanced celebration with their coming and commemorative speeches.
Among many guests were Mr. Predrag Štromar, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Construction and Physical Planning, Mr. Ivan Klešić, Chief Auditor General, Mr. Boris Vujčić, Ph.D., Governor of the CNB, Vice-Rectors of the University of Zagreb, Prof. Tonči Lazibat, Ph.D., Prof. Mirjana Hruškar, Ph.D., and Prof. Miloš Judaš, Ph.D., then rectors and vice-rectors of other universities, deans and vice-deans of faculties of the University of Zagreb and other faculties in Croatia and the region, academics, professors emeritus, ambassadors and other representatives of economic and social subjects of the City of Zagreb and Croatia.
​Special honors were given to foreign professors involved in obtaining the AACSB accreditation for the Faculty. Assigned were awards for scientific work in the field of socio-economic sciences "Mijo Mirković", awards for scientific and professional works in the field of marketing "Fedor Rocco" and awards for works in the field of finance "Dr. Pero Jurkovic ”. This year, for the first time, the “Ljubomir Martić” award was awarded for works in quantitative economics. The most successful students of the Faculty of Economics were awarded the Dean's Awards for Success in Study, Written Papers and Extracurricular Activities.

As part of the Faculty Day celebration, a concert by the Rules of the Game group was held.

Check out the winners here:

Charter of Appreciation

Professor Michael J. Ginzberg  - for providing exemplary mentoring through the AACSB accreditation process
Professor Timothy S. Mescon - for outstanding contribution to enhancing International Engagement, Innovation and Impact of AACSB accreditation


Professor Metka Tekavčič - for partnership and support in FEB internationalization
Professor Amy Zeng - for partnership and support in FEB internationalization
Prof. Neven Vrček, Ph.D. - for many years of exceptional contribution in encouraging and realizing inter-university cooperation
Mr. Branko Baričević - for his outstanding contribution to encouraging cooperation in promoting European values
Mijo Mirković Award
Group A 2
  'Financial Supply Cycles in Post-Transition Europe - Introducing a Composite Index for Financial Supply', Post-Communist Economies, Vol.30, No. 4, pp. 482-505, 2018 “, author Assistant Professor Tomislav Globan, Ph.D.
Group B 2  „Persistence and Stochastic Convergence of Euro Area Unemployment Rates, Economic Modelling, Vol. 76, pp 192-198, 2019“, authors: Assistant Professor Irena Raguž, Krištić, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Lucija Rogić Dumančić, Ph.D., and Assistant Professor Vladimir Arčabić, Ph.D.

Fedor Rocco Award

Prof. Marija Tomašević Lišanin, Ph.D., Assoc. Prof. Selma Kadić-Maglajlić, Ph.D., and Nikola Drašković for University Textbook: "Principles of Sales and Negotiation "

Dr. Pero Jurković Award
Group C "Fiscal Policy and European Semester in Croatia: Why We Should Focus on Public Debt", authors: Prof. Hrvoje Šimović, Ph.D. and Milan Deskar - Skrabić, Ph.D.
Winners of the "Dr. Pero Jurković Acknowledgments" for 2019 for Special Scientific Contribution in the Field of Finance: Assist. Prof. Mihovil Anđelinović, Ph.D., Assist. Prof. Silvija Vlah Jerić, Ph.D., Assist. Prof. Dajana Barbić, Ph.D., and Assist. Prof. Andrea Lucić, Ph.D.
Dean's Award
Seminar papers:
Matko Spicijarić on the topic: "Relationship between health spending and certain health parameters"
Graduation thesis:
Branimir Cvitko Cicvarić on the topic: "Risks and yields in the cryptocurrency market"
Matej Kovač on the topic: "Statistical methods in temperature forecasting as a basis for estimating the value of weather derivatives"
Matea Miloš on the topic: "Estimation of lost profit of employers caused by the costs of absenteeism in Bjelovar-Bilogora County"
Ružica Rako on the topic: "Perceptions of the student population on financial products of long-term care for the elderly and infirm"
Ivan Slunjski on the topic: "Maastricht convergence criteria as a starting point of the Republic of Croatia for Economic and Monetary Union"

Special Dean's Award:

Association: Economic Clinic
Project: Cinema at the Faculty of Economics and Business - Zagreb

Students: Ivan Krajinović, Marijana Mišić, Sara Čolić, Tatjana Matić, Tena Kiš, Ivana Divić, Ivan Tolić, Amalija Ljubica Mohač, Zdeslav Markoč, Nina Dlesk, Martina Matijević, Ivona Kovačić, Sarah Kolarec, Krešimir Landeka, and Dominik Vladić
Association: Croatian Academic Community Faculty of Economics and Business - Zagreb
Project: Soft Skills Academy
Students: Adrian Poznić, Ivan Milutinović, Mihovil Mioković, Tom Medek, and Vladimir Antun Posavec
Association: Debate Club of Faculty of Economics and Business - Zagreb
Project: Do you know how?
Students: Marin Čuk, Lucija Meštrović, Bartul Jurjević, Danijela Sinković, Filip Tomčić and Magdalena Vujčić
Anita Tadić - for her outstanding contribution to the field of university and faculty sports (gold medal in karate from the European Championship in Zagreb)